A Villainous Job Snob

Upturned Noses

I have spent my entire life in the education system. And have been very successful throughout it. Not with natural innate cleverness I might add, but instead through consistent hard work at every level of qualification.

All of this was for a reason, of course. I had spent the entirety of my teen years and my early twenties with the resounding dream of teaching. Preferably Secondary School or High School English. And then suddenly, with all the As and A*s in the bag keeping the Degree cosy, I hit a hole in the road.

Well more like a crater.

I was told ever so politely that my dream wasn’t going to be a possibility. Epilepsy, you see. Now of course there are conditions to epileptic teachers leading a classroom. Completely understandable. However, unfortunately for me, I don’t fit under any of those conditions.

So then, after all the years of effort, essays and exams, everything that I had worked towards had been brutally dismantled before my eyes.

That left me with the awkward question of ‘What am I going to do now?’

It was when I started browsing job opportunities that I realised that I had become a Villainous Job Snob. I began deciding that I wasn’t going to do ‘that type of job’ before I’d even read the requirements or the full nature of the employment.

Now, supermarket work, which seems to be available at will, has always been off the counter for me, because of the correlation between my presence inside of one and the amount of seizures that occur. But retail wouldn’t have been.

Now, one thing that everyone here has to understand, I do not judge those people that work in retail, restaurants or call centres. Fair enough on every count. If you enjoy the work itself, the people, being able to provide for yourself and your family or even just being in a stable nine to five. That isn’t what I judge. What I judge truly is myself in that position.

I see myself in those uniforms and feel such a heavy wave of disappointment. As though all those years, all that pushing, all those well earned certificates were and are wasted. And if I began stacking shelves every day then I may as well take all those glittering bits of paper to the back of my house and burn them.

I sound like a horrific human being and I know it. I sound like a judgemental snob and I know it.

But I can’t help but judge myself by a certain standard. The standard representative of my hard work, the results and qualifications that came as a result of it and therefore the level of employment that would be expected to follow.

5 thoughts on “A Villainous Job Snob

  1. As a recently retired teacher, I read your post with sadness. I always think “if there is a will, there is a way”…I truly believe it! You deserve to teach and you are obviously prepared. I don’t know where you live, but there is an Epilepsy Foundation in the United States. They have a very good website…
    http://www.epilepsy.com

    There are some interesting legal issues regarding discrimination and laws that are in place for the workplace. Also…have you considered a service dog?
    The students would absolutely love that idea!

    Like

    1. Thank you. I live in the UK and the regulations are silly things that keep them away from the whole Disability Discrimination Act. It’s things like 12 months seizure free, knowing when a seizure is about to occur and being able to leave the room, knowing what your trigger is…etc.
      In terms of ‘if there is a will, there is a way’ – I’ve tried my best to work with children and run voluntary groups and partake in educational courses for young children. Anything to get involved and carry on.
      I would love a service dog! They’re beautiful things. However, not easy to come by…

      Like

      1. Thank you for your reply! My heart is breaking for you. I absolutely loved teaching and it truly is incredibly rewarding. I took education law as part of my master’s program. I am going to read up on the UK and on service dogs. That could be a key to solving your situation. Thinking of you today! I am going to help you in any way I can!

        Like

  2. This doesn’t come off as job snobbery…just natural sadness at not being allowed to do the job you worked so hard to prepare for. It seems like there must be some recourse. The education profession is crying out for enthusiastic, dedicated people like you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

